Moosomin Chamber of Commerce: Community Recognition Award winners named

April 14, 2014 10:12 am
Kevin Weedmark

The Moosomin Chamber of Commerce has named the winners of the 2014 Community Recognition Awards.

The awards will be presented at a banquet Saturday, April 26 at the Conexus MCC Centre.

Being honored by the Chamber of Commerce are:
• Long-time Moosomin MLA Don Toth
• Creative Vision Productions
• The Moosomin Heritage Committee
• Brandon and Jolene Banga
• PotashCorp

Moosomin MLA Don Toth
The Chamber President’s Award will be presented to Moosomin MLA Don Toth, the longest-serving member of the Saskatchewan legislature, who has announced that he will not be seeking re-election after six terms.
Chamber president Ed Hildebrandt said Toth was selected to honor his service to the area as MLA.
He has served as the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly and is currently the longest-serving Member of the Legislative Assembly.

Creative Vision Productions
According to a nomination submitted to the Chamber of Commerce, “This group shows what a small community can do in a big way. They’ve put on past productions of Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat as well as Les Miserables that rival professional acting groups, all while using local talent for everything from making costumes to playing music to acting.
The nominator added, “They got the whole community involved and showed us what we’re capable of when we work together.”
The group’s latest production, Les Miserables, played four sold-out shows at the Conexus MCC Centre. Funds raised through the productions have been invested in improvements to the MCC Centre.

Moosomin Heritage Committee
This group was nominated for its work on heritage standards, and on heritage conservation.
The committee has done extensive work on heritage guidelines, and will soon issue a guide on heritage restoration. Hours and hours of work have gone into research for the guide.
The committee works with the town of Moosomin on heritage grants to encourage businesses to restore their heritage buildings, and advises businesses on their restoration projects.
A heritage grant went to Pharmasave, another has been approved for the Food bank, and there are more applications in the works.

Brandon and Jolene Banga
“For business owners who are relatively new to Moosomin, this couple has already accomplished a lot,” one of their nominators pointed out.
“Many new business owners focus solely on their businesses for the first few years, but these two have become very involved in the community right off the bat. They organized a town-wide cleanup last year, and organized Moosomin’s response to Typhoon Haiyan, getting other businesses involved in responding to the disaster with aid support.”

PotashCorp was nominated for its major investment in the expansion of PotashCorp Rocanville, and for being a good corporate citizen for the whole area.
“Potashcorp is important to the economy of the region, and the decision to invest $2.8 billion in expanding Potashcorp Rocanville kickstarted a surge in development in the area,” according to a nomination received by the Chamber of Commerce.
“The company perhaps hasn’t been recognized for all that it does—it supports many projects in Moosomin and area, and was the biggest donor for construction of the Southeast Integrated Care Centre in Moosomin. PotashCorp is very important to the whole area.”

The Moosomin Recreation Department had already announced the winners of its awards, to be presented the same night.
Gerald Unger
Unger will be presented with the Mayor’s Award of Distinction, which is presented to an individual who has demonstrated a lifetime commitment to community sports, culture and recreation.

Moosomin Curling Club
The Moosomin Curling Club will be presented with the Community Councillors Achievement Awards, presented to a community group or service club for their efforts on a sport, culture, parks or recreation project.

Wayne and Carol Glasser
Wayne and Carol Glasser of Glasser’s TV Service will be presented with the Corporate Community Builder award, which is presented to a corporate member of the community for their contributions to the sport, culture, parts and recreation field.

Devon McMullen
Moosomin’s Devon McMullen, captain of the Yorkton Terriers, will receive the Team/Individual of the Year Award for his outstanding achievement in sports.

Tickets for the Community Recognition Awards are available at the World-Spectator.